Australian News

Australian news and media publication

The National Institute of Anthropology and History (INAH) “continues carrying out the legal mandate to promote scientific research in the fields of anthropology and history, the preservation of cultural heritage, as well as the teaching and training of researchers in the fields of their competence”, said the technical secretary, Aída Castilleja González, at the head of the thirty-sixth edition of the Premios INAH, in the Jaime Torres Bodet Auditorium of the National Museum of Anthropology.

The INAH Awards, indicated the anthropologist, in addition to being a consolidated and internationally recognized event, are an inherent part of institutional life, as they constitute the most important recognition and material, academic and dissemination stimulus aimed at excellence in research work and the preparation of theses for bachelor’s, master’s and doctoral studies in different disciplines and areas of work of the institute.

On behalf of the general director of INAH, Diego Prieto Hernández, the technical secretariat explained that in the edition of the awards corresponding to 2021, like last year, they are delivered in accordance with sanitary measures, and in the same way as in the On the last occasion, there were fewer works received to be evaluated, due to the restrictive conditions of the health contingency. However, 182 works were received for the different awards in their different categories.

Photo: Courtesy INAH

To achieve the awards ceremony, Aída Castilleja acknowledged the support of the Secretary of Culture of the Government of Mexico and highlighted that, of the total number of participating works, 175 are from national researchers and seven from foreigners; 22 prizes were awarded for a total amount, to be distributed, of one million 960 thousand pesos, and 26 honorable mentions.

Likewise, he underlined the participation of women, as they were the authors of 101 of the 182 papers presented; of the 48 awards and honorable mentions awarded, 31 of them were deserving, that is, 65 percent of the total number of awards. The winning works come from 16 different national and foreign institutions.

Representing the qualifying jury, the museographer Rosa Estela Reyes García, affirmed that the INAH, from its different substantive areas, marks a profound reflection on its scientific work, and all the projects presented are a reason for reflection and pride, an example of the diversity of the cultural heritage and the conformation of the country.

“As a jury, the review of the participating works, the conceptual process and the creative development of each one is a stimulating task, the dialogue between colleagues and colleagues is enriching. The increase and rigor of the criteria that must be overcome year after year is evident, because the projects themselves are setting this requirement”, he stated.

Peruvian anthropologist Andrea Carolina Urrutia Gómez, recipient of the Fray Bernardino de Sahagún Award, in the category of Best Doctoral Thesis, on behalf of the winners, explained that recognition of their research gives support and notoriety to it, but also carries responsibility.

In this way, the Alfonso Caso Award (Archaeology) for the Best Research Work was given to the study Dynamics and development of the Olmec population of San Lorenzo, by Virginia Arieta Baizabal and Ann Marie Cyphers Tomic.

The Javier Romero Molina award (Physical Anthropology) went to Mirna Isalia Zárate Zúñiga’s master’s thesis: Gender inequality and its impact on the health and nutrition of a group of men and women from Mexico City, buried in cemeteries of San Andrés and Santa Paula, 18th and 19th centuries.

In the Fray Bernardino de Sahagún Award (Ethnology and Social Anthropology) the winning project was the research by Ana Margarita Valdovinos Alba, The Expedition to Nayarit. Record of texts and observations among the indigenous people of Mexico. The Best Doctoral Thesis in this discipline was obtained by Andrea Carolina Urrutia Gómez, for her work Models and beauty practices among formal workers in sales and makeup application in Mexico City.

The (de)personalization of women victims of femicide in Chimalhuacán, State of Mexico was selected as Best Master’s Thesis. Narrative from families, by Claudia Itzel Pérez Rodríguez; while the Best Undergraduate Thesis was obtained by Verónica Sayuri Gallardo Kishi, with the Juggling research to make ends meet. Debt, finances and jobs in five precarious salaried households in CDMX.

The Francisco Javier Clavijero Prize (History and Ethnohistory) went to the work by Elisa Speckman Guerra, En questioned. Criminal justice, famous homicides and public opinion (Mexico, 20th century). They also shared the Prize for Best Doctoral Thesis, Isabel Guadalupe Juárez Becerra, for her study From the salvation of the soul to the prison system. The Collection House of Guadalajara (1745-1871), and Malinalli Hernández Rivera, for The Pilgrim Books. Dismemberment, transit and dispersion of the Novohispanic Jesuit Libraries, through their Temporalities Boards. 1767-1798.

The Best Master’s Thesis was the one elaborated by Rodrigo Gordoa de la Huerta: The general accounting of alcabalas of the Royal Treasury of New Spain, 1677-1756. Meanwhile, the Award for Best Undergraduate Thesis was received by Alejandra Hernández Vidal, for her work The health services during the Tragic Decade, and David Méndez Gómez, for The map of Atenco-Mixquiahuala: his writing and cartography.

The Wigberto Jiménez Moreno Award (Linguistics), in the Doctoral Thesis category, went to Alaide Rodríguez Corte, for her work Types of Nominal Reference in Nahuatl from San Miguel Canoa, Puebla. The award was shared with Shun Nakamoto’s master’s theses: Mazatec Tonology: San Bartolomé Ayautla, and Complex Predicates in Yucatecan Maya, by Rodrigo Petatillo Chan.

With the Francisco de la Maza Award (Restoration and Conservation of the Architectural and Urban Heritage), it was distinguished as Best Work for Execution File of the project for the conservation of the buildings damaged by the 2017 earthquakes in the Archaeological Zone of Monte Albán-Atzompa, elaborated by Nelly Margarita Robles Garcia.

As Best Doctoral Thesis was considered the work of Consuelo Córdoba Flores, Public charity and Mexico City. The last link in the health policy of Porfirian modernity (1877-1910); and Master’s, Yuzzel Alcántara Ceballos, Memory and heritage from the affective turn. Dispossession, destruction and defense as affective-emotional experiences of the architectural urban.

The Paul Coremans Award (Conservation of Movable Property) went to Marilyn Adriana Ortiz Gasca’s undergraduate thesis: Conservation in museums exercised from a social approach to exhibitions and their contents (People-Centered Approaches to Conservation): a case study . Finally, with the Miguel Covarrubias Award (Museography and Museum Research), Leticia Pérez Castellanos won the Best Doctoral Thesis for her work La casa del museo (Mexico City, 1972-1980). A multilocal ethnography on extramural cultural action.

Meanwhile, the Best Master’s Thesis Award was shared by Luis Ricardo Nathael Cano Baca, author of San Agustín Acolman. A museum space (1920-2016), and Eréndira Marcela Derbez Campos, for A key woman for art in Mexico. Inés Amor and the Gallery of Mexican Art (1935-1945).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.